George Walker

George E. Walker is currently Professor and Senior Mentor in the School of Business and Leadership, at the University of Charleston WV. Dr. Walker previously was the interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs at Cleveland State University from June 1, 2012 – June 30, 2013. From January 1, 2010 until May 31, 2012, he was Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies at CSU. He has held appointments as Professor of Physics, Chair of the Physics Department, Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School at Indiana University, and Senior Vice President for Research Development and Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate School at Florida International University.

George has served as Chair of the Board of the Council of Graduate Schools, President of the Association of Graduate Schools of the Association of American Universities (AAU), and Chair of the Council on Research, Policy and Graduate Education of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges (NASULGC/APLU). He directed “The Carnegie Initiative on the Doctorate” while a Senior Scholar at the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

George received his B.A. degree from Wesleyan University in 1962, and the M.S. (1964) and Ph.D. (1966) in Theoretical Physics from Case Institute of Technology. After serving in Post-Doctoral positions at Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory and Stanford University, he joined the faculty at Indiana University in 1970, remaining until becoming Professor of Physics-emeritus in 2004. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society. While at Indiana he was twice awarded Physics Graduate Students’ Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate Education.

George has chaired or served on numerous advisory committees including those at Los Alamos National Laboratory and Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, the Educational Testing Service (ETS), the National Survey of Student Engagement (NSEE) and the Ruhr Universitat Research School International Advisory Committee.